Writing

“ There’s an incredible romance around writing, it’s true. I think underneath it all, everybody has a longing to express themselves, to connect with themselves. To write, you have to have a relationship with your own mind. Now people don’t consciously realize that, but I think they feel that unconsciously. Everybody wants to connect with themselves in a society that is so alienated. There’s a lot of loneliness in our society. People are longing to connect with themselves, and they don’t know how. They see writing as a way of doing it. It is amazing. It’s just amazing. In every walk of life, I meet people who tell me they’ve always wanted to write. What I’ve done is make it very empirical. No big deal. This is how you do it. It’s simple but it’s not easy.”

Natalie Goldberg

Leave a comment